Click to visit the Divine Mercy Home Page Roman Catholic Christian Church Trust in
Divine Mercy Home About Our Pastoral Unit Faith Formation Family St. Mary of the Angels Parish St. Patrick Parish St. Ann Parish St. Theresa of the Child Jesus Parish St. Joseph Parish Our Lady of Mercy Parish St. Thomas Aquinas Parish Assumption Parish
Click to visit the Divine Mercy Home Page
Click to visit Contact Us page Site Map

 Contact Us


Click to visit Voluntas Dei website
Click for more information on how to make a Donation Click to access the Daily Mass video from St. Basil's Church in Toronto  on YouTube Make a Donation Top of Page


On June 24th 1934, a Franciscan priest, Fr. Father Hubert Perron, dedicated the little church of Anderson Road, with 18 families, to St. Theresa of the Child Jesus.

The land was donated by a parishioner, Mr. Joe Lanto who is now buried in the adjoining cemetery.

At that period the Franciscans who served the surrounding parishes lived in the monastery at Aroostook, NB and would come to their respective parishes every week end.

In 1937, Father Firmin Lachapelle replaced our founding Father and changed the manner of serving the parishes as well. He is credited with initiating the idea of priests residing in their designated parishes seven days a week. He was pastor of Blue Bell and Anderson Road for 20 years and was the last Franciscan here.

From 1957 to 1966, the Diocese of Edmundston provided three priests:

Since 1966 we have been pastored by priests of the Voluntas Dei Institute:

In June, 1994, we celebrated the 60th anniversary of this parish, recalling the many blessings of the past. A special tribute is extended to Father Louis Pearson, our pastor of 17 years who inspired and encouraged us in the building of our new church. It was dedicated in June 1986.

A forty year tradition that has developed is the early "Family Day" festivities held on the third Sunday of July. Activities and special functions are geared to each age-group of the family, enabling everyone to participate and enjoy their day. It has become part of our heritage. This day has also become a means whereby we have supported the church and progressed where we are today.

Our dramatic years have enriched our history. Yet we are indebted to the founders who initiated the challenge.

Pastors and Administrators since 1996:

 1996-1997:  Mrs. Anne Dickson, Administrator

1997-1999:   Fr. Pierre Thibodeau

1999-2007:   Parish Pastoral Team (Fr. Pierre Thibodeau, Moderator)

2007-2010:   Parish Pastoral Team (Fr. Curtis Sappier, Moderator)

2010-2011:   Parish Pastoral Team (Fr. Gilbert Doddatto. I.V.D., Moderator)

2011-....:       Parish Pastoral Team (Fr. Gilbert Doddatto. I.V.D., Moderator)


Référence : Livre-souvenir à l'occasion du 50e anniversaire de la fondation du diocèse d'Edmundston publié par la Revue de la Société Historique du Madawaska (vol. XXIII, numéros 1, 2, 3 et 4), 1995.

Photo : Jacques G. Albert

St. Theresa of the Child Jesus - Parish History

Click to visit St. Patrick Parish main page

St. Theresa of the Child Jesus Anderson Road

Click to visit St. Patrick Parish main page