Click to visit the Divine Mercy Home Page Roman Catholic Christian Church Trust in
Divine Mercy Home About Our Pastoral Unit Faith Formation Family St. Mary of the Angels Parish St. Patrick Parish St. Ann Parish St. Theresa of the Child Jesus Parish St. Joseph Parish Our Lady of Mercy Parish St. Thomas Aquinas Parish Assumption Parish
Click to visit the Divine Mercy Home Page
Click to visit Contact Us page Site Map

 Contact Us


Click to visit Voluntas Dei website
Click for more information on how to make a Donation Click to access the Daily Mass video from St. Basil's Church in Toronto  on YouTube Make a Donation Top of Page

St. Joseph - Parish History

Click to visit St. Patrick Parish main page

St. Joseph



"Come to the Lord, the living stone, rejected by men but approved, nonetheless, and precious in God's eyes. You too are living stones, built as an edifice of spirit, into a holy priesthood, offering spiritual sacrifices acceptable to God through Jesus Christ." (1 Peter 2: 4-6)

The land on which St. Joseph Church now stands was purchased from two neighbours, George and John Baker on August 23, 1894, each ceding a portion of his property. The cornerstone was laid and the church built in 1895. The pews were made in 1906 by Bill Ryan, brother of Father Frederick Ryan, the then parish priest. The same year, the bell was bought from the Meneely Company of West Troy, NY, and bears the following engraving: "The Immaculate Conception—Godfather: Henri McQuade, Godmother: Mrs. L. McQuade" and the names of Joe Beaumaster, Owen Goodine, Isaac Sullivan, John Baker, and Lewis McQuade. The rectory, built in 1926, once stood on the church ground; in 1929, a sacristy was added on to the rear of the church. It is now incorporated to the Paul Baker house, next to the church.

The parish was ministered to by:

1894-1895:            Fr. F. Wallace

1895-1903:            Fr. F. Dugal

1904-1906:            Eudist Fathers Aimé Morin and Olivier de Fer de la Motte

1906-Aug. 1921:    Fr. Frederick Ryan

In 1921, the anglophone missions of southern Victoria County became the charge of the Franciscan Fathers. Among those who ministered at Tilley were:

1921-1923:   Fr. Hugolin Lemay, O.F.M., the first superior

1921-1924:   Fr. Sylvester Beaudet

1923-1936:   Fr. Raymond Pennafort Willey

1926-1936:   Fr. Berard Nobert

1936-1940:   Fr. Samuel Côté

1940-1943:   Fathers Gregory Léger and Berard Nobert

1943-1948:   Fr. John Paul Morneault

1948-1970:   Fr. Berard Nobert

1970-1972:   Fr. Lionel Beaulieu

1973:            Fr. Matthew Audibert

1973-1990:   Fr. Norman Thibodeau

1990-1996:   Fr. Leo Grégoire, I.V.D.

1996-1998:   Fr. Curtis Sappier, Administrator

1998-1999:   Fr. Pierre Thibodeau, Administrator

1999-2007:   Parish Pastoral Team (Fr. Pierre Thibodeau, Moderator)

2007-2010:   Parish Pastoral Team (Fr. Curtis Sappier, Moderator)

2010-2011:   Parish Pastoral Team (Fr. Gilbert Doddatto. I.V.D., Moderator)

2011-....:       Parish Pastoral Team (Fr. Gilbert Doddatto. I.V.D., Moderator)


Référence : Livre-souvenir à l'occasion du 50e anniversaire de la fondation du diocèse d'Edmundston publié par la Revue de la Société Historique du Madawaska (vol. XXIII, numéros 1, 2, 3 et 4), 1995.

Photo : Jacques G. Albert